MTV Movie Awards 2014

Late night personality Conan O’ Brien recently hosted the MTV Movie Awards 2014 at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles, CA. In attendance were some of the biggest names in Hollywood and some of the most talented were nominated for the Best Male and Female Performances, Breakthrough Performance, and so on. Online voting is how the MTV Movie Awards determines the winners for each category. A list of “Official Voting Rules” is posted on their site.

mtv movie awards logo
Source: MTV

Here are some of the official terms and conditions MTV posted for this year’s awards.
1. Voters eligible to vote should be a US resident and should be at least 13 years old.
2. Employees, agents or representatives of Viacom Media Networks are not allowed to vote.
3. Votes for the Nominee preference are cast on Mobile users can access the site via

There are two ways to vote for your nominee preferences. One is online and the second is via Twitter, Instagram and Vine, although the latter option is applicable to voting for Favorite Character only.

To vote online, voters can simply click on the button next to the Nominee’s image or video. After it’s clicked, voters need only read and follow the next set of instructions to complete the voting process.
Voting via social media accounts, in which the account must be set to “public”, requires the use of hashtags corresponding to the nominee of choice. Voters may use the following hashtags to vote for their Favorite Character: #votetris, #votekatniss, #votekhan, #voteloki and #voteveronicamars.

What’s great about the system is one can vote as many times as he or she wants to as long as its within the voting period. The voting period started on March 6 and ended on April 13, 2014.

Some of the categories the MTV Movie Awards include the usual Best Actor, Actress and Movie awards but also incorporate unconventional award categories such as Best Kiss, Best Cameo, Favorite Character and Best Villain. If you are out of the loop, here is the list of some of the nominees and winners of the Golden Popcorn award.

Best Male Performance

  • Bradley Cooper — “American Hustle”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio — “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor — “12 Years a Slave”
  • Josh Hutcherson — “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” WINNER
  • Matthew McConaughey — “Dallas Buyers Club”

Best Female Performance

  • Amy Adams — “American Hustle”
  • Jennifer Aniston — “We’re the Millers”
  • Sandra Bullock — “Gravity”
  • Jennifer Lawrence — “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” WINNER
  • Lupita Nyong’o — “12 Years a Slave”

Best Kiss

  • Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Adams — “American Hustle”
  • Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Scarlett Johansson — “Don Jon”
  • James Franco, Ashley Benson and Vanessa Hudgens — “Spring Breakers”
  • Shailene Woodley and Miles Teller — “The Spectacular Now”
  • Emma Roberts, Jennifer Aniston and Will Poulter — “We’re the Millers” WINNER

#WTF Moment

  • The RV Crash — “Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues”
  • The Beauty Pageant — “Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa”
  • Car Sex — “The Counselor”
  • The Lude Scene — “The Wolf of Wall Street” WINNER
  • Danny’s New Pet — “This is the End”

Best Shirtless Performance

  • Jennifer Aniston — “We’re the Millers”
  • Sam Claflin — “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
  • Leonardo DiCaprio — “The Wolf of Wall Street”
  • Zac Efron — “That Awkward Moment” WINNER
  • Chris Hemsworth — “Thor: The Dark World”